The Divisional Secretariat of Karandeniya in the Galle district is situated just a stone's throw away from the ravine of the coastal belt.
Eastern longitudes 80-5 to 80-10
North latitude is 6-15 to 6-20

Limits of Karandeniya Narampanai Divisional Secretariat

            North - Benthara Divisional Secretariat
                       Elpitiya and Welivitiya Divisional Secretariat Division of Welivitiya
            South - Ambalangoda Divisional Secretariat
            West - Balapitiya Divisional Secretariat

Karandeniya DS division belongs to Karandeniya electorate. The land area of ​​the Divisional Secretary's Division is 8423 hectares (84 sq.km) and comprises administrative 40 administrative divisions. 5% of the total land area of ​​the Galle District belongs to this division.


"Our Vision"

To be the excellent government institution that helps the life styles of the community in a beneficial way to the society


"Our Mission"

To provide a service in line with the government policies, uplift the lifestyles of the society through a planned, efficient development process consisting of proper co-ordination of resources and participation of the people"

History of Karandneiya Divisional Secretariat


karandeniya Divisional Secretariat which is the closest government body of the people in the division, took its origin as an Assistant Government Agent’s Office at Karandeniya Village Council building in 1973 as a result of a long left demand of the people.


Later, with the Expansion of services rendered, it was relocated in a spacious building at Mahaedanda on the 16th of August 1979. Upgraded to the Karandeniya Divisional Secretariat in 1992 this office has today become the pioneer government service provider to the people in Karandenya Division.




Role performed at DS


01 Mr. Gunatilaka (A.G.A)
02 Mr. S.A.Ekanayake  (A.G.A)
03 Mr. Wimalasiri Perera  (A.G.A)
04 Mr. Piyadasa Mudugamuwa (A.G.A)
05 Mr. I.G.S.Jayaweera (A.G.A)
06 Mr. A.withanachchi (A.G.A)
07 Mr. W.H.N.Jayakody (D.S)
08 Mr. S.L.Amarasekara (D.S)
09 Mr. U.D.C.Jayalal (D.S)
10 Mr. J.Wanniarachchi (D.S)
11 Mr. H.P.Sumanasekara (D.S)
12 Mrs. H.N.S.T.K. De Silva
13 Mr. I.S.Samarkoon (D.S. – Present)

News & Events


Training Program for New Development Officers in 2019

Training Program for New Development Officers in...

Scroll To Top